GRK2504

Virology

Head of Institute:
Prof. Dr. med. Klaus Überla

Welcome

The research training grant GRK2504 at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität (FAU) was approved by the committees of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) in May 2019. Accordingly, our training and research programme will begin in October 2019. We are now starting to recruit doctoral candidates in sciences that will pursue their research projects in Erlangen. In autumn 2019, recruitment procedures will be continued for doctoral candidates in medicine, for clinician scientists, for associated training members, and for young researchers that were trained at FAU and wish to perform their research projects with one of our collaboration partners at the Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard.

Our training programme in Erlangen offers structured curricula for doctorates in science and medicine and for clinician scientists pursuing an academic career. All measures intend to support profound scientific training and to familiarise with translational research.

Our research programme aims to explore novel approaches for antiviral chemotherapy and immune intervention that build upon recent developments in molecular virology and immunology. The individual research projects address antiviral small molecules (area A), immune cell-mediated antiviral effects (area B), and antibody-based approaches (area C). Altogether, we envision multimodal antiviral strategies that combine antiviral chemotherapy with immune-based interventions as the most promising path towards the control of persistent viruses.

 
Contact
Prof. Dr. med. Klaus Überla
phone: +49 9131 85-23563
fax: +49 9131 85-22101
e-mail: klaus.ueberla@fau.de
business card
PD Dr. med. Brigitte Biesinger-Zwosta
phone: +49 9131 85-26447
e-mail: grk2504-info@fau.de
business card

GRK2504

Virologie

Direktor:
Prof. Dr. med. Klaus Überla

Willkommen

Das Graduiertenkolleg 2504 der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität (FAU) wurde im Mai 2019 von den Gremien der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) bewilligt. Unser Ausbildungs- und Forschungsprogramm kann somit im Oktober 2019 beginnen. Daher starten wir nun mit der Rekrutierung naturwissenschaftlicher Doktoranden, die ihre Promotionsprojekte mit Finanzierung durch die DFG in Erlangen durchführen werden. Im Herbst 2019 folgen die Auswahlverfahren für medizinische Doktoranden, für ärztliche Rotationsstellen, für assoziierte Kollegiaten in Erlangen und für Nachwuchswissenschaftler, die nach ihrer Ausbildung an der FAU im Rahmen unserer Kooperation mit dem Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard in den USA forschen möchten.

Unser Ausbildungsprogramm in Erlangen bietet strukturierte Konzepte für naturwissenschaftliche und medizinische Promotionen und für den Einstieg junger Ärzte in eine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn. Alle Maßnahmen sind darauf ausgerichtet, eine fundierte wissenschaftliche Ausbildung zu unterstützen und in Richtung translationaler Forschung zu ergänzen.

Aufbauend auf neueste Entwicklungen in der molekularen Virologie und Immunologie zielt unser Forschungsprogramm auf die Erforschung neuer Ansätze für antivirale Chemotherapie und Immunintervention. Die einzelnen Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit antiviralen kleinen Molekülen (Forschungsbereich A), Immunzell-vermittelten antiviralen Effekten (Forschungsbereich B) und Antikörper-basierten Ansätzen (Forschungsbereich C). Insgesamt erachten wir multimodale antivirale Strategien, welche antivirale Chemotherapie mit immunbasierten Verfahren kombinieren, als vielversprechenden Ansatz zur Kontrolle persistierender Viren.

 
Kontakt
Prof. Dr. med. Klaus Überla
Telefon: 09131 85-23563
Fax: 09131 85-22101
E-Mail: klaus.ueberla@fau.de
Visitenkarte
PD Dr. med. Brigitte Biesinger-Zwosta
Telefon: 09131 85-26447
E-Mail: grk2504-info@fau.de
Visitenkarte